This topic is locked

Howto add a single child record for many parent records, from parent t

7/11/2008 6:29:26 AM
PHPRunner Tips and Tricks
T
thesofa author

OK, I have to show a page of kids in a tutor group, be able to select all, none, many or some and add a common record to the child table for all of the selected records.

I have a master page built showing all of the pupil records, in addition I have 4 slave/child paGES BUILT, EACH WITH ADD PAGE AND LIST PAGE FOR THE FOLLOWING ACTIONS:-

1. Detention
  2. Behaviours
  3. Efforts
  4. Service Awards

Breaking down the steps of the project I get:-

1. Show the filtered records
  2. select the pupils who need the child record
  3. Place a link to the add record page on the new list page
  4. select the reason for the award
  5. add the award record for each of the selected children
  6. review the newly added records

Dealing with one thing at a time:-
Showing the filtered list, each teacher has a record field called group, this holds the name of the tutor group, ie 8P for year 8 kids in tutor group P.

Each kid has a record field in the Pupil table called reg with their tutor group in.

In the security settings for this page, on the advanced tab, select "users can see and edit their own data only"

set the two fields so that the owner field is `group` and the main table field is `reg`

When you show the list page, only those records in the tutor group will show.
When choosing which pages to build, make sure you select Delete. This enables the column of tick boxes and a select all tick box to select individual or all of the records for deletion, it also places a Delete Selected button on the page.
Adding a link to the Add new record for the list page for the multi add page.

Do this for the events specified

list page

BeforeProcessList event

//********** Custom code ************

// put your custom code here
$_SESSION["deleted_value"] = "";

List Page

BeforeDelete event

// Parameters: