Forums: [SOLVED] Selecting multiple records with integer key - Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[SOLVED] Selecting multiple records with integer key 1:many:many selection Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   keithh0427 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 29-December 04

Posted 18 June 2019 - 03:49 AM

I have a table with 3 fields: regionID, encounterID, communityID
all three of these fields ate int(11)

Normally these elements will behave like this:
Select a single regionID.
--> Select a single encounterID based on the regionID.
----> Select a single community ID based on the encounterID

These selections work great.

However when I want to create a report, I want to select like this:
-->Select a single regionID
----> Select any number of encounterID records based on the regionID
------> Select any number of communityID records based on the selected encounterID records.

I tried using a varchar field to hold each of the encounterID keys but that doesn't seem to work when I want to perform a lookup with the wizard.

Basically, I need to store a number of integers in a field so that I can select a number of integers in another field based on all of the integers in the previous field.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

I'm sure there's a way to achieve this in PHPRunner, but can't seem to see the forest because of all the trees.

I'm using v10.2
0

#2 User is offline   admin 

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 16451
  • Joined: 03-February 03
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 June 2019 - 03:31 PM

A varchar field should be able to hold a list of comma-separated integers. You need to explain what " doesn't seem to work when I want to perform a lookup with the wizard" means.
Best regards,
Sergey Kornilov
0

#3 User is offline   keithh0427 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 29-December 04

Posted 18 June 2019 - 07:54 PM

View Postadmin, on 18 June 2019 - 04:31 PM, said:

A varchar field should be able to hold a list of comma-separated integers. You need to explain what " doesn't seem to work when I want to perform a lookup with the wizard" means.


On the primary table, the regionID, encounterID and communityID are all set to int(11)

On the report table, the regionID is set to int(11), the encounterID and communityID are set to varchar(250)

On the lookup wizard, I set the encounterID on the report table to checkbox and the advanced dependency set for the report table regionID to the regionID in the encounter table. In my thinking, it should then select all of the encounterID records associated with that regionID. But, there are no checkboxes created. In fact, nothing is created for the encounter element.

I agree that the varchar should be able to hold the comma delimted list of encounters, but I can't seem to get there.
0

#4 User is offline   admin 

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 16451
  • Joined: 03-February 03
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 June 2019 - 01:02 PM

I don't really understand the exact issue based on this description. It will be much easier to understand if we can see the actual project and data.
Best regards,
Sergey Kornilov
0

#5 User is offline   keithh0427 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 29-December 04

Posted 19 June 2019 - 04:32 PM

View Postadmin, on 19 June 2019 - 02:02 PM, said:

I don't really understand the exact issue based on this description. It will be much easier to understand if we can see the actual project and data.



I have opened a support ticket with the information needed to view the demo project.

Thank you!
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users