This topic is locked
[SOLVED]

Check if a specific record exists

10/5/2012 7:05:56 AM
ASPRunnerPro General questions
M
markynewport author

Hello,

I would like to ask a question , (I'm a complete novice)
I am trying to prevent duplications from being entered to my database
I need to check 3 fields NAME, DOB, and location
I have used the below line from another topic and it works perfect for the first two fields (name and DOB),
set rsExists = dal_table.Query("Name='" & values("Name") & "' and DOB='" & values("DOB") & "'","")
I just need to add to this to also check location field for a Null value. i.e. (if the location field is NULL and the name and dob are the same "show error message".)
Any help greatly appreciated

G
gdmacdo 10/5/2012

This is an example of what I use to check if a user's email and employee number have already been used and presents a pop up alerting them.
dim rsEmail,rsEmployee,rsSchoolCode

set dal_table=dal.Table("dbo.AD_Security")

set rsEmail = dal_table.Query("Email='" & values("Email") & "'","")

set rsEmployee = dal_table.Query("Employee_Number='" & values("Employee_Number") & "'","")
if not rsEmail.eof then

Flush_output

Response.Write "<script>alert('Yikes! - The email address already exists. Please check your spelling/entry.')</script>"

elseif not rsEmployee.eof then

Flush_output

Response.Write "<script>alert('Yikes! - The Employee ID Number already exists. Please check your entry.')</script>"

elseif values("YourLocationFieldName")="" then

Flush_output

Response.Write "<script>alert('Yikes! - YourLocationFieldName does not have a valid entry.')</script>"

beforeadd = false

else

BeforeAdd = true
end if

Hello,

I would like to ask a question , (I'm a complete novice)
I am trying to prevent duplications from being entered to my database
I need to check 3 fields NAME, DOB, and location
I have used the below line from another topic and it works perfect for the first two fields (name and DOB),