This topic is locked

How to pass values

11/7/2017 11:15:06 AM
PHPRunner General questions
R
Ron38 author

I have a veteran's database that I want to convert to the web. I know very little about PhP, altho I have been programming other languages for 60 years...

I want to display a list of clients, based on a View that I have created: when the user selects one record in the view, I want to save two values, and use those in other forms to access single records. I can create the form with the list of records, but what do I do then?

S
Scrolin 11/7/2017

I have a veteran's database that I want to convert to the web. I know very little about PhP, altho I have been programming other languages for 60 years...

I want to display a list of clients, based on a View that I have created: when the user selects one record in the view, I want to save two values, and use those in other forms to access single records. I can create the form with the list of records, but what do I do then?

I'm very far from an 'advanced member' let alone an expert but this seems pretty close to what I was trying to achieve in this topic:[SOLVED] Populate "Add on the fly" screen from current record. It may not be exactly the same as your case but it should give you food for thought.

R
Ron38 author 11/11/2017

I can see that I have mis-phrased my need, I will have a List page showing all of our clients. I wish to take the two primary keys of the row selected and populate a single client page using those keys. So it is a matter of saving two fields and using those as keys for the subsequent page.

Appreciate your responses and apologize for lack of specificity.

Ron

jadachDevClub member 11/11/2017

I can see that I have mis-phrased my need, I will have a List page showing all of our clients. I wish to take the two primary keys of the row selected and populate a single client page using those keys. So it is a matter of saving two fields and using those as keys for the subsequent page.