This topic is locked
[SOLVED]

total from details table to master table field

7/20/2017 8:23:09 PM
PHPRunner General questions
H
Hertz2P author

I have a master table "TimeCard" and a details table "timeClock"
Both have a field called "hoursWorked" which is a sql calculated field in the details table and multiple entries are allowed within the same day.
In both tables the primary key field is "id", and the detail key is "timeCardId"
I'm trying to use this code to populate the "hoursWorked" field in the master table, and it doesn't seem to be working (no errors either.) Can anyone see what I'm doing incorrectly?

global $strTableName,$dal;

$rs = CustomQuery("select sum(hoursWorked)from timeClock where timeCardId=".$_SESSION[$strTableName."_masterkey1"]);

$data = db_fetch_numarray($rs);
$dal->Table('TimeCard')->Value["hoursWorked"] = $data[0];

$dal->Table('TimeCard')->Param["id"] = $_SESSION[$strTableName."_masterkey1"];

$dal->Table('TimeCard')->Update();
admin 7/21/2017

You need to troubleshoot your code. I.e. instead of executing the query print it on the page, run it manually and see it it returns correct data. The same thing with UPDATE SQL query. Print, test manually, see if it works.

H
Hertz2P author 7/21/2017

Thanks Sergey, can you give a quick example of how that's done? Searching for 'print' is pulling up a lot of printer related issues..

H
Hertz2P author 7/21/2017

Okay, I've figured out that the sql is the part that's not working. I think it may be due to the fact that the field I would like the totals from is a calculated field (uses startTime and endTime to calculate hoursWorked). However, using the totals page to get the totals works. So I guess my question is can the DAL access the totals field of a details table directly?
Here are the codes that don't work together:

SQL: round(time_to_sec(timediff(endTime,startTime))/ 3600,2) AS hoursWorked,