This topic is locked

Dependent dropdown lookup in child table based on master record

4/17/2015 12:20:54 PM
PHPRunner Tips and Tricks
F
FunkDaddy author

Want to change a field in the master record form and have it's value control another lookup field inside a inline add/edit child form? Simply pass a newly created window variable from master record down to the child tables
Step 1:

Read Sergey's how-to-article tips & tricks forum entry titled "Custom dependent dropdown boxes" here http://www.asprunner.com/forums/topic/22701-custom-dependent-dropdown-boxes/
Step 2:

By using the same principles explained in his tutorial you can also pass a field value from master record form by simply instantiating a global window variable in javascript, which can then be used as a reference in your $.post script as is explained in the article.
Example:
I have a master record called "Epics" that allows me to enter notes about a feature needed in software development (agile anyone?). In that form I have a dropdown that let's me associate the epic entry with a particular software product name so I know what project/product the epic belongs to. Based on the value of this product name, I want my child record forms that are embedded in the master form to have a field that is dependent on the one in the master. So in the master I simply keep track of that product name when the dropdown is changed.

//Lets make the LinkProductID field in master record trigger a dependent lookup in the child based on the selected product

var LinkProductID = Runner.getControl(pageid, 'LinkProductID');
//The window var is used by the details table to adjust the dependent dropdowns accordingly in JS OnLoad events

LinkProductID.on('change',function(){

window.productID = this.getValue();

//console.log(window.productID); //debug

});

Step 3:

Using Sergey's code for the javascript portion I simply modify one line as follows:

//modify this..

'category' : this.getValue() },
//...to this