This topic is locked

Permissions and regenerating the Project

7/13/2005 10:30:21 AM
PHPRunner General questions
prleo1 author

I have been using PHPRunner for about two months now and think it is a pretty good product. However, I am getting frustrated by having to regenerate the project if another user needs to be added or if permissions need to be added/removed.
What file(s) actually control who gets what? I am using the bottom option in security, (Add Group Permissions); when in Group Permissions, I am actually selecting the username in the field, then giving them rights to each page.
Also, is development working on a means of actual group permissions within the database? For instance, I was using another product prior to this that was using two tables for permission sets.

1. User table
  2. Group Table

roy 7/14/2005

This is a feature that I very much would like to see as well. Regenerating the code will become more and more problematic as customization progresses. So far it's only menus and a reports sub-system.
I would like to be able to assign users to groups, such as 'sales', 'graphics', 'production', 'admin', etc. I can then add users to the users table, but assign them to the appropriate group. I can then pre-generate the permissions for the group.
Roy

admin 7/15/2005

We work on implementing real group-based permissions in the next version of ASPRunner/PHPRunner.
Meanwhile you can implement this manually. There are several places in PHP code that need to be changed.

1. login.php
    in the beginning:
    old:

$_SESSION["UserID"]="Guest";
    new:

$_SESSION["UserID"]="Guest";

$_SESSION["Username"]="Guest"; More...
    in the middle
    old:

if($data=db_fetch_array($rs))

{

$_SESSION["UserID"] = @$_POST["username"];

$_SESSION["AccessLevel"] = ACCESS_LEVEL_USER;

if($_POST["username"]==$cAdminUserID)

$_SESSION["AccessLevel"] = ACCESS_LEVEL_ADMIN;
    new:

if($data=db_fetch_array($rs))

{

$_SESSION["Username"] = @$_POST["username"];